Welcome to my site.

I’ve had a busy day today, working on a piece for the Dream Garden Gala being held at the Cairnwood Estate in March.  The theme is Maxfield Parrish, and I was just at the Delaware Art Museum on Wednesday, looking at Circe’s Palace which was on display there. Maxfield Parrish amazes me.  No matter how close I went to that painting, I couldn’t see a single brushstroke.  It looks as flawless from several inches away as it does shrunken down to book-size.

So I’m experimenting on pastelbord, using my fingers to smudge the pastel together, trying to create something stroke-free that will evoke Maxfield Parrish.  Anyone who’s worked with pastel will know that the medium doesn’t lend itself to fine detail.  I’m using a colour scheme that’s unusual for me, mimicking his Parrish blue skies by layering what blues I have on hand.

It’s a fascinating exercise, trying to use another artist’s palate.  The subject – a boy swinging from a tree – is very much my own, but I’m grateful for the chance to stretch my repertoire, to use colours together that I never would otherwise.  I have an unconscious eye for what hues balance each other out, but that eye is complacent, and not very inventive.

I’ll post the final product on here at some point.  Wish me luck!

